Egg up

 

by Irina Slav

That old and dusty question about the egg and the chicken has its very simple answer (think evolution) that reestablishes once more the egg as a sort of treasure, which it is, actually. It’s no coincidence that it’s a religious symbol, egg is good. And I’ve just had the chance to see that for myself in one more way — by glazing my face with it, basically.

Here are the nutritional facts.  Isn’t it nice not to care about cholesterol, because you’re not eating it, you’re putting it on your face? Yep, it’s nice. Now, I don’t know much about the properties of each and every vitamin and metal that eggs contain, but I’ve known since I was a kid that the yolk makes your hair stronger and thicker. Haven’t tried that yet, scared by horror stories of women splashing out a whole egg on their heads and then rinsing with too warm water. I’m sure you’re familiar with the effect of heat on egg whites, but for those who aren’t — it makes it coagulate. That’s why you either use yolks, I’m told, or you use cool water to rinse.

Anyway, I was going to talk about my first-hand experience with eggs as a face mask. I’ve recently had to read a bit more than I otherwise would about all sorts of natural skin care and it was only logical that there would be a point at which I’d go for some of it. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no green extremist, I use a common anti-wrinkle cream. Alright, it has 95% natural organic ingredients but that’s because my daughter sometimes gets her hands on it and either eats it (before) or puts it on her face (lately). But still, I’m a consumer of mass cosmetics, such is life. Anyway, I read somewhere that the egg yolk, full of vitamins from the B-group plus vitamin A and whatever else there was, I forget, is very nourishing for your outer layer. The white, for its part, acts as a tightener, closing pores in the process. Sounds great and it doesn’t take long – just spread it evenly, wait for it to dry and rinse off. First apply the yolk, to nourish, then the white, to tighten. Both dry up in about ten minutes and, honestly, the effect is visible. I’ve been doing it once a week and I’m noticing it. Not that it will wipe out the lines, but it’s good and there are no side effects save for the fact that you’ll smell like an omelette in the making for 20 minutes. Rinse well, the yolk especially tends to stick.

Da Pootz

Leave a Reply

